Co-ops are democratic organizations where the members decide on the annual budget, rules and policies. They elect a board of directors to handle the more detailed management issues.

Housing co-op directors are elected

The co-op’s rules or bylaws establish when and how directors are elected. Co-op acts set out who can be a director and the steps for electing a board. It’s therefore important to be familiar with the requirements of the co-op act for your province or territory.

Elections for directors are usually held during the housing co-op’s annual general meeting. Directors are elected for a specific time period or "term."

Many co-ops have "staggered terms" so not all directors are up for re-election at the same time. One way to do this is by setting up a mix of 1- and 2-year terms when the first board is elected. This ensures there are always some directors who are familiar with outstanding issues and projects.

Directors are accountable to members

All directors must be familiar with and follow the co-op’s bylaws or rules. They must attend the housing co-op’s annual general meeting and provide a financial report during that meeting.

The board is responsible for dealing with member concerns, non-payment of housing charges and special projects. It oversees the annual budget and makes sure there’s a reserve fund for maintenance and repairs.

The reserve fund must be invested according to the bylaws or rules and co-op act regulations. If there’s a funding agreement with the government, money needs to be invested according to its terms as well. Members may ask for a special study to determine how much money should be set aside in the reserve.

Larger housing co-ops often hire employees to take care of day-to-day operations. These employees typically report to the board.

If the co-op’s members aren’t satisfied with the board’s performance, they can call a special meeting. During this meeting, 1 or more directors can be removed from the board.

Co-op meetings must follow specific guidelines

All housing co-ops must have an annual general meeting to discuss policy, budget and other major issues. General meetings may be held, where members discuss and decide on issues affecting the co-op. Special meetings can be called to discuss board performance or consider an appeal from someone whose membership is being terminated.

The co-op’s rules or bylaws set out how to call a meeting and how much notice is needed. Specific rules can vary according to the co-op act for each province and territory.

The bylaws or rules should establish the required quorum (the percentage) of members needed for a meeting to continue. Quorum is often 50% plus 1 member. However, it could be more for special meetings or if the rules or bylaws are being amended.

Co-ops need to keep accurate records

The importance of maintaining accurate records cannot be underestimated. Directors need to make sure accurate records of their meetings and decisions are always kept. It’s particularly important to keep a record of how bylaws or rules have changed over time. Guidelines for establishing and maintaining records should be made when the co-op is formed.

If members don’t record decisions or keep bylaws up to date, they might later disagree on what was actually decided. This could lead to serious legal difficulties if the co-op needs to enforce a bylaw or rule that is disputed.

Explore related content using the tags below:

Date Published: January 1, 0001

Les coopératives d’habitation sont des organisations démocratiques. Les membres prennent les décisions concernant le budget annuel, les règlements et les politiques. Ils élisent un conseil d'administration pour s'occuper des détails de la gestion.

Les administrateurs de la coopérative d’habitation sont élus

Les règlements de la coopérative précisent quand et comment les administrateurs sont élus. La loi sur les coopératives prévoit qui peut être élu administrateur et la procédure d'élection du conseil. Il est donc important de connaître les exigences de la loi en vigueur dans votre province ou territoire.

L’élection des administrateurs a habituellement lieu à l'assemblée générale annuelle de la coopérative. Les administrateurs sont élus pour une période déterminée, ou « mandat ».

Souvent, les mandats sont décalés pour éviter d’avoir à réélire tous les administrateurs en même temps. Par exemple, on peut accorder une combinaison de mandats d’un an et de deux ans à la première élection. Ainsi, il y aura toujours des administrateurs en fonction qui connaîtront les problèmes et les projets en cours.

Les administrateurs doivent rendre des comptes aux membres

Tous les administrateurs doivent connaître et appliquer les règlements de la coopérative. Ils doivent assister à l’assemblée générale annuelle et fournir un rapport financier durant cette assemblée.

Le conseil d’administration s’occupe des préoccupations des membres, du non-paiement du droit d’occupation et des projets spéciaux. Il surveille le budget annuel et s’assure qu’il y a un fonds de réserve pour l’entretien et les réparations.

Le fonds de réserve doit être investi conformément aux règlements et à la loi sur les coopératives. Si un accord de financement est passé avec le gouvernement, l’argent investi doit aussi respecter cet accord. Les membres peuvent demander une étude spéciale pour déterminer combien d’argent devrait être mis de côté.

Les grandes coopératives d’habitation engagent souvent des employés pour s’occuper des activités quotidiennes. Ces employés relèvent habituellement du conseil d’administration.

Si les membres de la coopérative ne sont pas satisfaits du rendement du conseil, ils peuvent convoquer une assemblée extraordinaire. Un ou plusieurs administrateurs peuvent alors être exclus du conseil.

Les assemblées doivent respecter des directives

Les coopératives d’habitation doivent tenir une assemblée générale annuelle pour discuter des politiques, du budget et d’autres questions importantes. Des assemblées générales peuvent être convoquées pour que les membres discutent de questions touchant la coopérative et prennent des décisions. Des assemblées extraordinaires peuvent être tenues pour discuter du rendement du conseil. Elles peuvent aussi avoir lieu pour entendre l’appel d’un membre qui est expulsé.

Les règlements de la coopérative décrivent comment convoquer une assemblée. Ils indiquent également le délai de préavis nécessaire. Les règles particulières peuvent varier en fonction de la loi sur les coopératives de chaque province ou territoire.

Les règlements doivent établir le quorum, c'est-à-dire le pourcentage des membres qui doivent être présents pour que l'assemblée se poursuive. Le quorum est souvent de 50 % des membres plus un. Un pourcentage plus haut peut être exigé pour les assemblées extraordinaires ou quand les règlements sont modifiés.

La coopérative doit tenir des registres exacts

Il ne faut pas sous-estimer l’importance de tenir des registres exacts. Les administrateurs doivent s’assurer que leurs assemblées et leurs décisions sont toujours bien gardées par écrit. Il est essentiel de tenir un registre des changements aux règlements. Des directives sur l’établissement et la conservation des registres doivent être adoptées lorsque la coopérative est créée.

Si les membres ne gardent pas leurs décisions par écrit ou ne tiennent pas les règlements à jour, cela pourrait entraîner plus tard un désaccord sur ce qui a été décidé. Des difficultés juridiques graves pourraient en découler si la coopérative doit appliquer un règlement contesté.

Découvrez du contenu connexe en utilisant les mots-clés suivants :

Date de publication : 1 janvier 0001